A child who is 9 years old or is in the third grade is a Bear, and their adventures are found in the Bear Handbook.

If a child is a new Cub Scout, they first earn the Bobcat badge. After completing the requirements for Bobcat they  go on to complete the requirements for the Bear rank.

Bear Scouts work toward the Bear rank. The Bear rank is earned by completing seven adventures as described below.

Bear Requirements

Complete each of the following Bear required adventures with your den or family:

  1. a. Bear Claws
    b. Bear Necessities
    c. Fellowship and Duty to 
    d. Fur, Feathers, and Ferns
    e. Grin and Bear It
    f. Paws for Action
  2. Complete one Bear elective adventure of your den or family’s choosing.
  3. With your parent, guardian, or other caring adult, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide.
  4. Earn the Cyber Chip award for your age. (The Cyber Chip portion of this requirement may be waived by your parent or guardian if you do not have access to the internet.)
For each adventure, the Bear Scout must complete the requirements as outlined in the Bear Cub Scout Handbook. Requirement 7 of Bobcat and requirement 3 of Bear are identical. If a Cub Scout earns their Bobcat rank during the same year that they need to complete the requirement only one time.